A Simple Top

I subscribed to the magazine Simply Sewing a year ago and as part of that subscription I’ve received a lot of patterns over the year. One I got recently was a simple knit top. I have sewn a lot of Seamwork Astoria tops but wanted to try something new. In steps the Walkley pattern!


The pattern comes as a dress and top from the same block. I made the small but added a bit at the hips as I have a slightly larger bottom half compared to the top. I used a thick Ponte de Roma in a mint green colour which I bought on a trip to Goldhawk road. 

It can easily be made in an evening so a good quick make but sadly not one I’ll repeat. I don’t like the style on me. It’s ok tucked into a skirt but the tunic length and shaping make me look a bit short and shapeless. However it might be nicer made in a lighter weight jersey. It did however provide an evening of entertainment and satisfied my need to start burning through my ever growing stash faster!
My hunt for the perfect top patterns continue….

One thought on “A Simple Top

Leave a Reply

