The Handmade Fair – Hampton Court Palace

I went to this years Handmade Fair at Hampton court palace in September with one of my best friends Lucy. I’ve been to Ally Pally and also the NEC for craft fairs before but didn’t really know what to expect from this one. I have to say it was a thoroughly enjoyable day out.

The fair had one of the best ranges of crafts in one place but was still small enough to not be overwhelming. Although I am mostly a dressmaker I ended up leaving with some essentials for printing. The book is one I’d had my eyes on for a while and the kit is some key basics for lino cutting and printing from a lovely stall ‘Handprinted.co.uk’. The ladies on the stall were really helpful in advising what products we should use and how to get started. I did some lino cutting back in my school days so it will be good to give it another go.

Hand made fair printing Kits details

Back to the fair! There was a great range of food stalls and we popped into the vintage tent to have cups of tea in china tea cups and listen to a 3 girl signing group singing great old-fashioned hits. Their were loads of familiar faces from the sewing world including the Lisa Comfort and the Sew Over it team, Fabric Godmother and Tilly and the Buttons. I also fell in love with a kit to make your own teddy bear but had to reign in the purse string and didn’t buy it.

My only 2 regrets for the fair are 1) I didn’t appreciate before we went that we should get tickets with classes and 2) it got so busy by lunch time that we struggled to look at anything and ended up heading to sit by the Thames as it was such a beautiful sunny day.

Classes: the fair has an amazing range of classes and talks which I would have loved to attend. Next year I’ll get a ticket that allow me visit some of them.

How busy the fair is: as with all sewing fairs by lunch time the crowds were in full force. I have to say I’ve never met a more good natured crowd. There wasn’t a single angry word spoken and everyone was so lovely and polite and patient. However it was virtually impossible to navigate to any stalls. I think after lunch would have been a perfect time to head to some of the shows/classes.

I had a fabulous day out and would recommend the fair to anyone. I definitely intend to visit again next year! Thank you Kristie and your team for coming up with the event.

Leave a Reply

