Sew Over it Tulip Skirt

Having seen that Simply Sewing Magazine were doing a tulip skirt sewalong in their magazine I took a chance on buying the magazine to see what I though. I loved it so much that I ended up subscribing and have followed the Tulip skirt sew along from start to finish.

Overall its a lovely relatively simply pattern so goes together very quickly. I also love that it comes with in seam pockets. I can often be lazy with pockets and ignore including them altogether but this time I decided to go for it. Having traced off the pattern I cut it out in some left over African Wax Batik cotton which I got from Goldhawk road a few years ago. The majority of the fabric was used on a By Hand London Elisalex hack dress which I love and wear constantly. I’d been keeping the rest of the fabric for the right project and thought a wearable toile would be an option given the pattern is not close fitting and the fabric doesn’t owe anyone anything given I already got one amazingly successful garment out of it.

Construction was relatively simple and I made no tweaks to the pattern. Overall I’m really pleased with it although I’m not sure that it suits my body shape. I’m still planning on making another in some black and white polka dot fabric that I bought recently in Stone Fabrics in Devon as an addition to the work wardrobe. It’s so comfy to wear and I think it could be a future TNT. Thank you Sew Over it for another lovely pattern! I recommend this to all abilities in dress making!

photo 22photo 6

 

One thought on “Sew Over it Tulip Skirt

Leave a Reply

