September Monthly Challenge

In an attempt to use more of my fabric, reduce WIP and also use more of the patterns I purchase I’m taking up a monthly challenge. The challenge is inspired by the SOI Vlog where Lisa shows some pieces of fabric at the beginning of the month and at the end of the month shows what she’s made. Having discussed it with my Mum we agreed that we will both take up this challenge and each month nominate things at the beginning of the month and then complete them by the end of that month.

Challenge rules:

  • At least 3 items must be nominated.
  • They can be any combination of testing new patterns, a new project, a work in progress and they can be dressmaking or other crafts.
  • The items must be nominated within the first 5 days of the month.
  • The result should be blogged by the end of the month.

It’s likely that we’ll tweak the rules as the month continue but below are my September challenges.

Bettine Dress: I recently got the Tilly and the Buttons Bettine pattern which has exploded on the sewing scene. There are so many lovely examples of the pattern and I’m desperate to see if I can make it work for me. I plan to make a wearable toile using some lovely green cotton lawn from the Man outside Sainsbury’s in Walthamstow.

photo 4  photo 5

Anderson Blouse: I’ve been catching up on the TV series Hannibal which stars Gillian Anderson who the pattern is so aptly named after. She wears a similar style in many of the episodes and looks incredible! So in a hopes I can look even half as good I’m cracking on with this in a crepe from Goldhawk road. Again it will be a wearable toile due to the low cost of the fabric. I didn’t have quite enough fabric so the front two panels are not cut on the bias which will change the style slightly but given the drapey nature of the fabric I think it should give a close approximation.

photo 2  photo 3

Myrtle dress: I’ve made the Colette Myrtle a number of times in wovens and its one of my staple go to dresses as it is super comfortable and can be dressed up or down. I’ve worn it to work, on evenings out and even out walking in the countryside. I had started another one in a black patterned fabric from one of the shops in Walthamstow but never got round to finishing so this will be my WIP to be completed this month.

photo 1

Hopefully by the end of the month I should be able to update you on my completed makes!

One thought on “September Monthly Challenge

Leave a Reply

