Sundress sewing challenge 2015

imageWhen I created this blog I pledged that I would join in the sundress sew-a-long challenge this year. I often follow the online sewing challenges and my aim with starting the blog was that it would allow me to join in and also get to know more sewers out there. Originally I had planned to make the infamous Mccalls 6696 shirt dress but time ran away with me. Instead I decided to use my TNT Astoria seamworks pattern as a base for a dress. photo 17

I lengthened the bodice and lowered the front neck line for a more scoped neck. I also reduced the length of the sleeve pattern to give a more capped sleeve. I decided to remove the neck band and instead turned under 5/8″ and hand sewed it down around the neck. Finally, I used a circle skirt pattern to attach at the waist. Having used both pattern separately there were few fitting issues. I had ordered a beautiful cloque Jersey from Stone Fabrics. I’ll admit that I loved the look of it so much that I also ordered it in the black.

The dress went together like a dream and is super comfy. I’m saving the Aqua colour below for a friends wedding in September but the black dress is going to get lots of use over the coming weeks!

photo 16

I’ve included a close up of the fabric so you can appreciate its lovely quilted texture. The service from Stone Fabric was great and the fabrics arrived all beautifully wrapped. I’m really looking forward to seeing the shop in person later this month on a trip down to Devon. I’ve set myself a challenge that I need to finish 5 garments before I go otherwise I’m not allowed to buy any more fabric to add to the ever growing stash. 3 down, 2 more to finish and only 2 weeks to go! Wish me luck!

photo 12

Leave a Reply

